Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Down by the dock of the bay…

Leave a comment

IMG_4398

Last weekend was the annual Bird Festival in Morro Bay, California, and we spent five days on the Central Coast enjoying, for the most part, lovely weather. Saturday it was smooth as glass as we glided on the Bay.

IMG_4304IMG_4323IMG_4280IMG_4477

Sunday, however, there were record swells over the breakwater (although the surfers did not mind) and a certain stormy-ness to the environment.

IMG_4567IMG_4624

Terry was off on a field trip somewhere and I wandered. The weather forecast was for rain for the rest of the time and I thought I might miss my “morning sunrise with coffee” in front of the rock because of it. I suspected I needed to walk any opportunity there was when it was clear, because otherwise I would get drenched. I set off…

IMG_4625IMG_4651

I had hoped I could collect items as I beach combed so I could compose small still-lifes in the sand. It turned out, however, that the tide had been extremely high but was now on its way out. It left a thin line of debris at it highest point that you can see behind the gull above. Lots of feathers were mixed in with shards of seaweed and all I had to do was bend over and take pictures of what pleased my eye.

IMG_4649IMG_4666

IMG_4663IMG_4661IMG_4658IMG_4660IMG_4654IMG_4657IMG_4653IMG_4659IMG_4655 (1)IMG_4662IMG_4667

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

Leave a Reply

