Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

It is a new dawn…

4 Comments

I have been a flake with posting blog entries recently but my resolution for 2016 is to “be better about it.” So first day of the year, first re-entry into the chronicles of the blog, and a big Happy New Year to you…

I have been thinking the last few days about how joyous it feels to wipe out the old year and start afresh. I am especially fortunate to get to celebrate my birthday on the 30th and the next day swing right into the celebration of the New Year. Mind you in a younger state I always felt my birthday was much too close to Christmas and next year I am pretty sure the whole concept of the birthday will land with a great deal of angst (because it will be the “big 7-0”). This year it was just very happy and fun.

My friend Gail is planning a trip to the Central Coast of California and asked be for suggestions of things to do (she has already done Hearst Castle and Cambria). It was fun to ponder this for the last few days because we are also going to visit the area in the middle of January for the Morro Bay Bird Festival. Plus when I focused in on what I like to do best when I am there, it fit my theme of wrapping up and starting afresh. I dug out a few pictures from my trip last year (they have been posted here before) but rejuvenation and the sense of impending joy made me seek them out.

Here you go Gail…roll out of bed at 5:45 (even though it is a vacation it is well worth the effort). Swing past the coffee shop on Main Street and then head out to the parking lot at the base of Morro Rock. Clamber down to the sand and stand at the wave line and as the sun comes up sip your coffee. It goes something like this as the light hits the rock. It really can’t be beat…fog and rain are the only things that can stand in your way. Oh, and the desire for a little more shut-eye might factor in…

IMG_8859

IMG_8867 IMG_8877 IMG_8882 IMG_8890_2

IMG_8905

It is a new day, it is a new dawn…Happy 2016 to you all! (Have a good trip, Gail!)

 

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

4 thoughts on “It is a new dawn…

  1. Wishes to you, Lois, for many “new dawns”…
    Will look up the Bird Festival and maybe get to it???
    One of my favs is Robin’s for brunch/lunch, Cambria.
    ~Kata and my bird “Yogi”

    • I haven’t been to Robin’s in years but love it. Keep running across the recipe cards I purchased from there years ago and saying to myself “should really make that lobster bisque again” but alas have kind of given up heavy cream…oh, well…Have a great New Year Kata!

  2. Rising early is a natural on vacations as we’re excitedly looking for new experiences. Your dawn photos are unparalleled, Lois! We’ll toast you with our warm coffee at sunrise and midday check out Robin’s for lunch.

    Happy New Year Lois and Robin,
    Gail

Leave a Reply

