Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Iron, dos…

2 Comments

Currently, iron is my favorite medium that I saw in Barcelona, and, I swear, that will last as long as it takes me to process all of my trencadís (mosaic) photos, and all of my art museum photos, and all of my tapas photos…because…this was one swell trip and I liked everything. My only regret…just last month we had to rebuild the two balconies on our house when we found dry rot prior to painting. We rebuilt them with wood as they were, but, maybe, if I had seen Barcelona before the job had to be done, I would have gone in the direction that Gaudí and his collaborator, Josep Maria Jujol, went on Casa Milà (La Pedrera, which means the quarry referring to its massive stonework). The cold, hard material of metal gets a treatment that makes it look like flowing tendrils of ribbon and damp paper draped over a slump mold. Oh, to die for…

  
        

The inside…

  
            

Casa Milà is a constant curve inside and out. It was built between 1906 and 1910. It had neglected days during the 1940’s to 1980’s when the interior was painted totally tan but it has been restored and is very colorful on the inside with pigment pressed into concrete. This last stairwell is highly buffed and looks like leather.

Iron, back on the street…

  
          

It was difficult to take pictures of the full buildings because you could only back up the width of the two lane street and a side walk. A lot of my pictures, therefore are details or almost abstracts. This is Casa Calvert, Gaudì’s first apartment building (located one block from our apartment) and I wanted to compare its elements to Casa Botlló…but I could not get all the floors in one picture…

  
  

This was a dress shop in our neighborhood that was originally a farmacia…flowery iron, mosaic and stained glass…perfection!


Palau Güell…

  

Iron???


NO! Chocolate at the Chocolate Museum. Ha, ha, ha, I like that, too!

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

2 thoughts on “Iron, dos…

  1. Thanks for bringing back memories of Barcelona. I do remember seeing some of these. I was focused and entranced and so impressed by Gaudi’s works when we were there and that unfinished for so many years duomo….a most interesting city! Your photos are amazing, how you capture the artwork even if across the too narrow streets.
    ~kata

  2. Barcelona was fun lots to see and do ,
    I love the food and all the Guadi Architecture !
    Was fun to see it all !
    Carol

Leave a Reply

