Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Collagraphs…

7 Comments

The reason that I ended up with two boutiques on the same weekend in December was that I had taken a class last fall through Walnut Creek Civic Arts. If you take a class then you are invited to participate in the sale. I had taken a printmaking class and had a great time. The facility has a large etching press that is wonderful, so, along with block prints I made some collagraphs which I fell in love with doing. It is not like I need to go out and buy any textured papers to create these things, right? I ripped of the back cardboard from every pad of paper in the house and set to gluing. Then I coated the printing plates with layers and layers of gloss medium so the water-based ink could be washed off after the printing was done. Once they were printed I could not leave them alone. You know me, they also got some collage elements added on top and additional printing and coloring. Here is a sampling…

IMG_8450 copyIMG_8454 copy

These two were printed on Rives BFK paper with two printing plates one for the background textures and the other with the animal.

IMG_8449 copyIMG_8452 copy

These were printed on rice paper more like a block print would be rather than with the press. They were embellished with water color and colored pencils along with collage elements.

IMG_8455 copy

This had a background made with a collagraph on the etching press but then had silk screens added on top.

IMG_8460 copyIMG_8457 copy

These were carving blocks I made and stamped on background paper. In the bottom one some of the paper had been sent through my inkjet printer but the paper tore. What to do but tear it some more and emphasize it.

Had so much fun I am taking the class again so I can use that wonderful press and make more collagraphs!

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

7 thoughts on “Collagraphs…

  1. Such great classes at the Walnut Creek Civic Arts program. What is the next one you will be taking?

  2. These are great!

    >

Leave a Reply

