Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Zentrum Paul Klee…

1 Comment

Ponder two words: Renzo Piano

The Italian architect that designed…

#1. The Pompidou Center in Paris. (In collaboration with Richard Rogers.) I loved taking pictures of this building…

IMG_4075IMG_4074 IMG_4073

However, I was not sure how much I liked the building itself, plopped down in the midst of the beauty of Paris and all of its formal architecture. My mind gave it a minus grade, most likely because it puts all its inner workings on the outside. (I am perfectly willing to take another trip to Paris to re-evaluate the situation, mind you!)

#2 The Academy of Sciences building in San Francisco. This building is one of my favorites from its living roof of California native plants down to its aquarium. It sits within the nature of Golden Gate Park and has a perfect view of the deYoung Museum. It houses multiple purposes (the planetarium, live penguins, a rainforest, as well as scientists doing their research and work). We visit here often and it gets a big plus from me.

IMG_3824

#3 Zentrum Paul Klee in Bern, Switzerland. Situated so it has an interplay with nature, this building by Piano knocked my socks off with its exuberance and swoop. It perfectly illustrates this quote from Paul Klee in 1902: ” Everywhere all I see is architecture, line rhythms, plane rhythms.” A very big plus from me. That makes it 2-1 in favor of Mr. Piano. (I am so presumptuous to think this matters!)

I linked to a full picture of the building because I did not actually take one of all three of the curves. It started to drizzle and I was balancing my umbrella on my shoulder and trying to hold my iPhone with two hands…if I had only known. At the time I had not made the connection that all three buildings had been designed by the same architect.

We left the bear pit after being unsuccessful in catching sight of the bears. This is the old pit that they sometimes still use, but they do have new digs with lots of vegetative cover and big fishing pools.

IMG_2003

We hopped onto the #12 bus and rode it to its end at the Zentrum.

IMG_7614 IMG_7615IMG_7618 IMG_7617

This sculpture is taken from a line Paul Klee drew in one of his pieces of art…

IMG_7619

IMG_7620 IMG_7622 IMG_7621

The lobby and cafe…

IMG_7623

Most wonderful of wonderful…the lower area given over to allowing creativity to develop. A whole light-filled space for kids’ art. This building is about the interaction of nature and culture…I could feel it…

IMG_7627 IMG_7626 IMG_7625

IMG_7628

IMG_2069

The next post will be about the art in the exhibit rooms…

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

One thought on “Zentrum Paul Klee…

  1. Pingback: Art/Nature/Self… | Lois Reynolds Mead

Leave a Reply

