Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Books never close…

Leave a comment

IMG_1209

It is true, I love to make travel journals. Trouble is, I cram them so full of the  paper I collect on the trip that I cannot really close the book without the help of very large ties. The receipts, the business cards, the postcards, plus all the photos I take need to go somewhere, but I always have this flaw in my book making skills of having too much stuff. So, when Teesha Moore made a suggestion on The Artstronauts Club (http://theartstronauts.com/about/ of keeping all of the ephemera in an expired passport I jumped up and down. Inspired! Oh, wow, I said, only have to travel with a little tape and a small stapler and all those extra little paper souvenirs are all in one place. Helps to figure out what to declare in customs and keeps them altogether so the travel journal can be just photos (and maybe can actually close.) When I thought about it further, my hopes were dashed, however, because I have no expired passports…I have only the one that I got four years ago when I retired and started to travel.

Within a week I got an email from a company (P22 Type Foundry) talking about a product they created to celebrate their twentieth year in business. (I am on their mailing list because their fonts include the handwriting of Claude Monet and Cezanne…what else is an intermediate school art teacher supposed to have on her computer?) The product was a set of three almost-passport-size soft-covered notebooks for $7.95. Answer to my dreams!

My package came on Saturday…

IMG_1187

There, right there, joy and celebration…evidently the Postal Service came out with a new set of stamps in May featuring antique circus posters. (Can be ordered online…https://store.usps.com/store/browse/productDetailSingleSku.jsp?productId=S_472104  Oh, heaven!  and they are forever stamps! Mail art here I come…

Then inside…

IMG_1186

Multiple postcards that advertise their fonts but are also beautiful.

IMG_1188

and a temporary tatoo (I am way old for that sort of thing so guess I will have to find a willing kid to wear it for me…)

IMG_1178

The three books with gold stamped covers and a variety of lined and grided papers…

IMG_1179 IMG_1180

definitions of the foot of a letter…

IMG_1181

The “golden canon of page construction”…

IMG_1182

A perpetual calendar…

IMG_1183

Keyboard positions and job case diagram for letterpress type…

IMG_1184

and a type diagram and definition of picas and points…

IMG_1185

Lovely things, and now I am set for three trips!! I dance for joy…

 

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

Leave a Reply

