Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Eye…

6 Comments

eye

Let me say that being on the very far side of the threshold of senior citizenry, the concept of a “selfie” is way outside of my comfort zone. I do not want to know how I have aged. I don’t really like to be in pictures, let alone up close ones that I take myself…

In a weak moment I signed up for an online class with Susan Tuttle called The Art of iPhoneography Self-portraits. I have taken classes from her before and loved learning Photoshop Elements from her in this way. She is such a good teacher I thought that whatever happened I would still learn things and I really should get over my reticence…right? I am what I am…we all decay…hmmmm.

Well I have been experimenting with lots of new apps. I particularly like DistressedFX, FocalLab, and Mextures. I have been layering with Blender App. I thought I should commemorate my eye, above. It is the one that had cataract surgery six weeks ago and my vision is vastly improved and bright and clear. That, too, had its own consequence. I was not prepared for looking in the mirror and actually seeing how the reality of the aging process has affected me. Now I can see those wrinkles. And the grey in the hair. I guess my middle name is actually deNile because it was a shock. I am thinking of marketing a blurry film to go over mirrors…just enough to help the willing consumer be convinced that some of those wrinkles are not there. If it doesn’t take off as a product, then I will just keep passing my selfies through lots of blurry apps to reverse the aging process.

Forgot to mention another app that has multiple uses: TouchreTouch…takes out lots of unwanted history on a face if you end up zooming out wider than an eye!

Oh, ok, here is another one. Really that is it. Entangled in my own vanity I guess…

entangled

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

6 thoughts on “Eye…

  1. You are beautiful. No touch ups needed. 

    Sent via the Samsung Galaxy S™III, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  2. This is a wonderful post. You’re lovely and brave. Keep it up.

  3. You are far braver than I am! I erase every Selfie I take. Maybe I need to try one of those filter apps! : )

  4. So glad the surgery went well! Miss you, hope all is well 😉

Leave a Reply

