Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Journal…

4 Comments

TM has been getting organized for his birding class. This meant finding the right journals for recording what he sees and counts. First he sought out weather-proof small notebooks for the recording-in-the-field. (I happened to have the yellow one in my collection. I think I had collected it not knowing what I would use it for but having fallen in love with its pale-blue grid-ruled pages. I figured I could rip out a few for my needs and he could have the rest. Anything for the cause!) The smallest ones fit conveniently into a shirt pocket.

IMG_9911

Also, he needed a more permanent three-ring binder for officially entering each birding-adventure. Set in a specific layout it holds all the data.

IMG_9912 IMG_9913

I am such a supportive spouse I offered him use of my tools and my experience with journaling. (I thought there could be room for some decoration here.)

I go on trips and I journal about the experience with watercolors…

IMG_9929

IMG_9947

IMG_9965

IMG_9961 IMG_9963 IMG_9962

I alter old books with gesso, titanium white. titan buff, Davey’s grey, and collage papers…(they never seem to close once I am finished with them.)

alteredbook

IMG_9967 IMG_9966

I slap my printed iPhone photos onto inky backgrounds…

IMG_9939 IMG_9940 IMG_9941 IMG_9942 IMG_9943 IMG_9944 IMG_9945 IMG_9946

and I make collages from snippets of magazine pictures in books I have made myself. (Mostly because I absolutely love the way Fabiano Artistico paper behaves.)

IMG_9922 IMG_9964

I offered, I did offer to assist him in any way…tools, advice…but, no, he did not want my pens, my color ideas…he remains the legal pad to my handmade paper. Thus, it will always be…but now we have a fixture at the back door for any spontaneous, unusual sightings in the backyard. You never know who might fly through. Be prepared…

binoculars

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

4 thoughts on “Journal…

  1. you have totally inspired me to alter books! must give it a go. thanks so much.

    • oh, Great! It is so fun, fun, fun!

      • In my excited haste I forgot to say how wonderful yours look! I especially like the one with the golden leaf (right page) and the pears (left page). But then also the last ones, the funny little man and the woman… it’s so hard to pick a favourite, they are all so different and special.

  2. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful journals! Lots of fabulous texture, line and color in these. I’m particularly fond of your inky backgrounds and printing your iPhone photos is such a great idea…I may have to try that!

Leave a Reply

