Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Sea Ranch

4 Comments

In a few weeks we will be going on a trip where I will not have access to WiFi except when I can find a cafe. I am wondering how many pictures one cup of coffee will allow me to upload. In thinking about how I could still blog I decided to try short video clips and stills in a simple movie form on my iPad. If the movie was made and then I only had to upload one item when I did find the cafe I might be able to blog anyway. We went away to a reunion with college friends last weekend and less than twenty-four hours later I am ready to post two movies. My only glitch was that movie clips from the last day will not load into the iPad. If I try any longer to figure out why, my goal of posting within the time limit will be gone. So you miss the stormy day with baby sea lions, sorry! The movie of our walks includes video clips and stills. We walked in the tree line and on the bluffs. In hedgerow and meadow. The second movie of the Sea Ranch Chapel is all stills. Designed by James Hubbell, it includes wood, copper, iron, stained glass, tile mosaic and embedded organic bits. It is an exquisite celebration of art and craft. Our friends Bill and Jan hosted us in their amazing house and former roommate Jenny came down from Canada and Kathy (Murph) came up from Atascadero. A wonderful time!

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

4 thoughts on “Sea Ranch

  1. Great job on the movies. We really enjoyed having you all at The Sea Ranch.
    Jan

  2. Those are great!! I am wondering the same thing – because we are going on vacation in a couple of weeks and I’m not sure about the internet connections… plus I will not have a computer – only my iPad/iphone. What program did you use to make the movies? complete w/ sound and titles, and everything – that was fantastic!! Awesome job!

    • Yes, I will only have iPhone and iPad, too. iMovie for the iPad is very similar to the one for my laptop but with fewer features. Still the basics are there. Canned songs and some sound effects plus access to what ever is downloaded to iTunes. I think I will download some music from Vimeo before I go because the repeat of the music track on the Chapel video got really old and there are not many to choose from. And title slides can be made (not as creatively, but still…) I usually process my photos a lot before uploading but for these only the ones that I made the decision to use the ProHDR app for got any processing before the fact rather that after. I think it will work in a situation without wifi access!!

Leave a Reply

