Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

iPhone goes Hollywood…

Leave a comment

I have had a fascination with movie making (couldn’t have lived with my son without some of it wearing off-just last night he asked if he and his crew can (again) use rooms in my house for filming next week) but I have never done it myself. I am too old for film school…want to use the money for traveling the world, instead, so when I recently ran across Xanthe Berkeley’s on-line class about making time capsules, I thought it might be a good way to record snippets of the foreign places I plan to see. Her short films are really terrific. See more on her Vimeo site. I thought it would give me a chance to at least understand iMovie and I might have some fun with my iPhone photos.

The first project included stop frame animation so I got to channel my inner Wallace and Gromit (for years as an intermediate school art teacher I “hung” around with the guys as a special event for my sixth graders, always in awe of the masters. I could show their videos multiple times during a day and laugh in the same places each time…never getting tired of their great creativity.)

Some words about my first project: Stop frame animation is difficult especially since I did not have a tripod and my subject is kind of wiggly. There are three sections of animation, the first one on the stairs I obviously could not get back into the same place to take the next picture after moving the object. The second example, although I was seated so I was stable, my star was moving too much and I did not end up with enough usable pictures. I did not start out to try to animate the food bowl, it just developed as I took one picture, I realized she kept moving her head from side to side and if I propped my elbows on my knees, I could be stable and just snap and snap and snap. I do not think I have a future in the position, however, the crouch, at my advanced age, doesn’t seem to be something I really want to do much of. It was an intense learning curve, but really exciting…looking for my next thing to animate and next week will include video! (As you look at this please understand it is a first try!) Found my iPhone tripod and bought a timer app so I should improve!

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

Leave a Reply

