Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

I am going to visit…

3 Comments

Terry and I will be off to Paris in a few weeks and in the process of researching what to see and what to do (and what to eat?) I came across the work of photographer Eugene Atget (1857-1927). This put me in mind that while I am there I really should take some black and white photos in homage to the time, the place, the artist. I have never taken many black and whites because my soul enjoys color so much, but I think it will be a challenge to try. I have been experimenting lately so I will have decided what apps to use before I get there. I do not want to fumble around once I am there. I am wondering if to take black and white your brain has to think in black and white? Or is your brain needing to be more conscious of light and how it falls? Decisions to be made…take photos in color and then process them after the fact into black and white? (Snapseed app)…take with an app that is strictly b and w (Monochromia app) which allows some adjustment after the fact…or just be spontaneous and use Hipstamatic app, because, after all, how much time is there to process pictures when there is so much chocolate to eat?
Samples so far…
Hipstamatic app with Helga Viking lens and Black Keys super grain film…

20120327-081102.jpg

20120327-103547.jpg

20120327-103628.jpg
These I took from the passenger seat of the car as it was driving. With the same combination of lens and film, but I felt they needed some brightening so they went into Snapseed for slight fiddling…

20120327-103921.jpg

20120327-103944.jpg

20120327-103951.jpg
This was Hipstamatic with James M lens and Rock BW-11 film…

20120327-104221.jpg
This processing is by Noir app

20120327-104336.jpg
These photos started as color photos but with Snapseed app they have become b and w many months later…

20120327-104943.jpg

20120327-105014.jpg

20120327-105027.jpg
I don’t want to duplicate Eugene Atget, I just want to enjoy the taking of some black and white photos with some confidence while I experience Paris for the first time. If you have suggestions, I would love to hear them.
As Eugene Atget said, ” A good photograph is like a good hound dog, dumb, but eloquent.”

20120327-111451.jpg
(My sweet dog is not really dumb, but she is eloquent!)

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

3 thoughts on “I am going to visit…

  1. Lois, I’m certainly a novice photographer, but I have definite opinions about b&w photos; I don’t think color can ever reach the sharpness of b&w, therefore a certain trait known only to b&w. There’s something that strikes me with a spectacular b&w that I have never felt with a fantastic color. So there–that’s my thought.

    You two are certainly seeing the world. I look forward to your thoughts and photos of Paris.

    • Yes, we are making up for lost time! I agree with you on the b&w. Being a native of CA and seeing Ansel Adam’s photos of Yosemite while in college crystallized my world view I think. Hope all is well with you!

  2. I also admire Atget…love your photos

Leave a Reply

