Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Traveling companion…

6 Comments

On our recent road trip to Canada through Oregon and Washington, I took along a travel journal that I made as a result of taking an on-line class from Mary Ann Moss (her blog is here). The class was called Remains of the Day and the book has a soft cover made from scraps of fabric and has pages of scrap papers sewn together using a sewing machine. The fun thing was that on our second stop my niece, Katura, gave me a bag she had gotten from a street vendor and it was the perfect size and an incredibly coordinating fabric with the book, which then got to travel the rest of the way in style in it’s own little container.

20110711-042707.jpg
What did I learn from this soft travel companion?
1. When you are my age and you drive six hours on a day, run around and see all the sights that you can, find dinner and then settle in to journal or blog, it is probably not going to happen. I finished blogging about the trip two weeks after I got home and three weeks later I am just now finishing up the journal.
2. I wish I had figured out before the trip that the Diptic app creates a great size image for the size of this journal (6×9). I thought I would use 4″x4″ images but when I started glueing things in I needed some to be smaller in order to fit more. If you create a four box image in Diptic each image is 2″x2″ and they can be cut out individually or cut in a horizontal or vertical strip depending on the kind of pocket you want to slip them in. Wish I had created a Diptic image each evening of the four best shots of the day so they were all ready to print when I got home. My journaling would have been faster. So now I know.

20110711-044940.jpg

20110711-044953.jpg

20110711-045006.jpg

20110711-045024.jpg

20110711-045040.jpg

20110711-045102.jpg
Maps and brochures fit in clear sheet protectors sewn so they are pockets. I do not think this journal will ever be complete, I see myself adding things forever.
The point of this journal was to chronicle what we saw and visited, but now I am working on one that is strictly going to be visual. Another Mary Ann Moss class (called Full Tilt Boogie). I am behind, of course, so although the class has now completed I just finished my first book today. Found a really ratty Victorian photo album on eBay for cheap (the wooden frame inside the cover velvet fell out when I removed it from the photo frames-what is that horsehair it was padded with?) Anyway, recovered it, made a page block, and made a closure because only half the clasp still remained. Light pencil writing indicated it was given to someone on Christmas 1891. Couldn’t save the name, but wanted to keep the date visible. Now to fill it…

20110711-051324.jpg

20110711-051338.jpg

20110711-051350.jpg

20110711-051401.jpg

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

6 thoughts on “Traveling companion…

  1. Thanks, Liz, let me know if you see any of those albums on your antiquing trips, eh, eh!!

  2. Both of your journals are beautiful!

  3. I love how you left a window in the inside cover to show the original inscription. Your journals are lovely!

Leave a Reply

