Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

iPhone Photo Friday…

Leave a comment

An Ode to the Garage

Today was the city-wide clean up day and all cardboard and trash from my garage clean up finally was put out for collection. I celebrated the occasion by washing my car and taking pictures of its first foray into its shelter. Used the Hipstamatic app on my iPhone, along with the  John S  lens and Kodot film.

Space

(OMG, this picture shows I am still hanging on to my potter’s wheel…)

IKEA shelving

Car Actually Parked Inside Of Garage

I had difficulty going through all the boxes in the garage because it represented such an investment of my time. Kept putting it off and putting it off. For years and years, when someone would ask me what kind of art I was doing, I would respond that my art was my lesson plans. They really were the creative part of my life for a long while because there was not much energy left for anything else after the wifehood, motherhood, and teacherhood. Even being retired a year and almost a half, I still could not let go of some of my favorites. Space on my new shelves had to be made for paper-making equipment, that unit on cartooning and all its supportive materials, and then calligraphy and illuminated letters. Oh, and the pop-up books that illustrate paper engineering so well. Back my car out, put up a table, feel some classes coming on…who’s in?

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

Leave a Reply

