Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Creative Exchange…

9 Comments

Last week I missed the creative exchange at Lisa’s blog White Cotton Tee due to being submerged under the clearing out of the floor of my garage. Today I did not want that to happen again so before I repaired to the area to tackle my last two boxes (can’t believe there are only two left) I set aside some time to ponder what I could contribute. Yesterday I quickly snapped this photo of one of my favorite garden plants. I photograph it often because it is quite sculptural. A California native Chalk Dudleya (Dudleya pulverulenta) that by luck is in the perfect place for its own self-interest (it is four times the size and beauty of two others planted at exactly the same time but that don’t catch the sun in the same way). Yesterday because of the rain on Sunday, the chalk part looked spotted and washed away in some areas:

and the center area was a little blown out. Since I have taken so many photos of this particular plant I wanted to see if I could improve it someway. My first thought was to put it into the LoMob app and apply the postcard three filter. Then I put the original into the PhotoWizard app and applied the pencil sketch filter. I took both saved versions and layered them together in DXP app for this:

I was starting to like it, but thought I could still push it a little. I recently purchased the Brush app (an impulse buy because of David Hockney’s recent New Yorker cover) but haven’t done anything with it. This morning I thought I could at least try to figure out how to change color in the brushes and maybe work on a little control. I took an old photo of the lights in a tunnel and did this:

Which gave me this when layered with the image of the Dudleya in the DXP app:

A nice morning workout and now back to the garage!

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

9 thoughts on “Creative Exchange…

  1. What an amazing difference Lois! Looks like it could be a painting or a sketch. The thought of combining the lights with the flower is just fantastic. DXP is one of favorite apps on the iPhone.

    Thank you so much for sharing this at The Creative Exchange!

  2. This is simply amazing! I also love the different steps you are showing us.

  3. Very cool….this makes for a totally different image than what you started with…love your creativity!

  4. Wow, what an amazing difference betwen the first before and the last after. I’m constantly amazed at how great the iPhone photos are and at what can be achieved with them.

  5. Thank you all for visiting and for your comments!

  6. that is amazing what you have done here, you are very creative, a great post.

  7. So much fun to see the changes in the image. Very cool!

Leave a Reply

