Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

August/Fun…

4 Comments

I went to talk with the director of the local community arts organization about teaching some art classes for kids in the winter and spring and I had a great idea when I got home. I needed to send him an email describing what I thought the classes should entail and I wanted to illustrate some projects. I didn’t want to load down the email with lots of images and sometimes it is difficult for me to send more than two photo attachments at a time and I didn’t want to send more than one email. It dawned on me that the iPhone was my best friend and it solved my problem. The Diptic app was the solution because I could create one image with four sections:

Top left is a one page instant book. One sheet of paper is printed on the computer and then folded into a book with eight pages. Top right is an accordion book made from a map with pockets that hold small photos and it has playing card covers. Behind that is a water-color accordion book with pop ups and windows. It has paste paper covers. Bottom left is a rolled up scroll book and bottom right is the scroll book open. It has a conglomeration of types of papers and small prints of my iPhone photos. I have all sorts of empty handmade books I’ve made over the years. I never filled them until I started taking iPhone photos and needed a place for all the little test prints I was accumulating. Now my books are getting filled. Such fun…maybe I will progress to putting some words in the books, too.

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

4 thoughts on “August/Fun…

  1. This is beautiful!
    I love this app, but don’t use it nearly enough!!

  2. Lois,
    You need to write a book. These are great!
    jan

    • Ahh, thanks, Jan. A book about books, sounds good! I went to an art show last weekend that I am going to write about tomorrow.
      It was called “Unbound” All manner of things related to books. In particular was Nancy Selvin (ceramic artist from Berkeley) who converted her sketchbooks into clay sculptures to demonstrate glazing and clay techniques. Too cool…

Leave a Reply

