Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

The other side of the rock…

Leave a comment

There is a man-made landmark as you look from Morro Rock toward the shore. This is a natural gas power plant that has been located here since the fifties. (My whole life I have visited this area. Vacations in elementary school and then my parents bought a vacation home here when I was in high school. I went to college here, my parents retired here, and now my mom lives in a retirement facility in the area). There was talk in the last few years that the power plant had lost its viability. The discussion began to center on whether, even though considered an out-of-place eyesore by some since it had been built, had it somehow taken on its own historical and scenic significance just by virtue of having existed for so long. (Bear in mind, Morro Rock also used to be dynamited for road fill. Eventually it was figured out that the rock would not grow back.)

This is like the kernomat cherry pitter I purchased in the early years of my marriage which is now called “vintage” on ebay. Has the power plant that was built in the 1950’s, within my lifetime, taken on the mantle of “historic landmark” if its use becomes obsolete? Is it historic enough for preservation just because it has existed as an eyesore? As kids in the fifties, there was a certain amount of family status connected to being the first one to spot the top of the stacks as we arrived in the area after our four hour long road trip from Pasadena. (I am not sure that is the type of historical significance that is being talked about though.)

I take pictures anyway…

These were taken with the iPhone4 using the ClassicPan app. I had some difficulty knowing which filter I was using because of the glare. The vintage filter creates the sepia tone images with a slight border.

This last one was not taken with the ClassicPan app, but rather the native camera of the iPhone and then cropped with the Crop Suey app. I liked the sea otter mothers surrounded with babies and seaweed in contrast to the stacks of the power plant.

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

Leave a Reply

