Lois Reynolds Mead

Art and a pink monkeyflower in a native plant garden…

Well, hello baby…

Leave a comment

One of my favorite California wildflowers is starting its bloom…

Baby Fivespot (Nemophila maculata)

and the first California poppy of the year:

California Poppy (Eschschoizia californica)

I wish I could supply a picture of my resident hummer, however, my camera is never fast enough. My movement of bringing it to my eye chases him off, or his hyperactive brain prompts him to think,”gotta move to frustrate her.” Please imagine the little critter, 12″ from my nose, looking me straight in the eye with that kind of sneer known to teenagers. He always has a quizzical look in his eye as if to ask, ” why are you sitting near my plants?” So here is his hummingbird sage:

Hummingbird Sage (Salvia spathacea)

And the lovely little sunflakes:

Sunflakes (Camissonia bistorta)

One of my first Cecile Brunner roses, a plant that has been here many years before our native plant garden. It has been in three different places, and been eaten to the ground by deer. It now likes where it is and each year it feels as if it is the “rose bush that took over the world.” When it is in full swing I will include another picture.

Cecile Brunner

Last, but not least, a bloom from a succulent. I do not know the name of it, because I planted it before I kept good records of that sort of thing. But nice flower, anyway.

Succulent flower

Author: loisreynoldsmead

artist

Leave a Reply

